Confession of an environmentalist

I don’t give a rat’s ass about global warming.

There, I said it.

I also think buying carbon offsets is a cop-out, but that’s for another time.

I’m not saying I believe or don’t believe in global warming. That’s irrelevant. I’m saying I don’t care (about global warming, itself, anyway. Global warming or not, I think pumping the atmosphere full of noxious crap is a pretty shitty thing to do.) Global warming does not enter into my reasons for making the decisions I do. If you care, awesome.

I don’t care because I have more important reasons (in my opinion) for doing the things I do. I don’t care because the public’s obsession with global warming allows people to merely throw money at something, or to do nothing while they wait for technology to magically fix everything. I don’t care because the media is using it as yet another fear tactic, and I place those who use it to scare people into “being green” in the same category as Christians who use hell to scare people into converting. It’s bullshit.

Those of you who are familiar with me on green issues may have noticed that I almost never mention global warming. This is why. I will not use it as a reason for any “green” activity I partake of. I’m usually ashamed to mention I’m an environmentalist, because global warming has turned the bulk of “us” into wailing fear-mongers and hypocrites. The corn industry gets a damn hard-on every time ethanol gets good press, but environmentalism takes the blame whenever said ethanol drives up food prices. I feel there are more, and better, reasons out there for living an environmentally conscious lifestyle.

So there, I said it. It’s over, it’s done. Now I can actually sit down and fucking blog without having to skate around the elephant.

One Response to “Confession of an environmentalist”

  1. Dargon Says:

    I have seen evidence in either direction, both pretty good. In looking at it, my own conclusion is that we have a small effect on global temperature; other natural factors heavily outweigh what people do.

    That being said, global warming has become a huge tool of fear-mongering, and it has spawned industries that aren’t so much environmentally concerned as they are concerned with reaping the benifits of that fear mongering, for example, your aforementioned carbon offsets.

Leave a Reply

