Killing Fox’s TV

Lister: There is no such thing as ‘Silicon Heaven’.
Kryten: Then where do all the calculators go?
Lister: They don’t go anywhere. They just die.
Kryten: Surely you believe that God is in all things? Aren’t you a pantheist?
Lister: Yeah, but I just don’t think it applies to kitchen utensils. I’m not a FRYING pantheist. Machines do not have souls. Computers and calculators do not have an afterlife. You don’t get hairdryers with tiny little wings, sitting on clouds and playing harps.
~Red Dwarf, “The Last Day”

This post is a day late because I woke up Saturday morning and discovered that my computer screen had gone plaid. It made all the appropriate booting-up noises, and eventually displayed a terrible mock-up of my desktop background, but the screen was unreadable, and thus, unusable. I automatically figured that my CRT monitor of 7-9 years had finally gone on to Silicon Heaven. (Turns out it didn’t, and now we’re suspecting the equally old and decrepit mother board or maybe the not-so-old-and-decrepit video card.)

Anyway. I immediately called the Bird (who comprises one portion of my three-person Personal Geek Squad) and we scoured Craigslist for a “new” CRT. We found one guy who might be willing to part with one, but did see listings selling LCDs. I figured if I was going to be spending money on a new monitor, I was damn sure going to get what I wanted. And what I wanted was a set-up that could run my computer as well as my gaming consoles.

I decided on this several months ago, talked to my friends about it, discussed LCD vs. LED vs. HDTVs and cables and cords and TV tuner cards and sizes and gods know what else. Good thing I did, because we already knew pretty much what we were looking for now. We hit up NewEgg, found a couple of likely suspects both in the LCD monitor and HDTV department.

I wanted to see these things in person, so we went to Best Buy. Almost immediately the actual computer monitors were ruled out by the Bird…they couldn’t be viewed very well from far away (necessary for the Wii and PS2). So HDTV it was. We spent maybe an hour looking at specs, sizes, and prices before mostly deciding on one. After an employee confirmed my hopes for the response time, I was set. So now instead of a computer monitor and television as separate entities, I have a 22″ Insignia LCD HDTV that works for both. I normally don’t like composites because if one breaks, you’re screwed for all devices, but the TV was something I used for a few hours a month. Losing the TV if the monitor dies is no problem. Losing the monitor when the monitor dies, however, is more of a problem.

Losing the TV (and to a lesser extent, the enormous CRT monitor) makes my apartment look much bigger. It’ll work better when I eventually move into an even smaller space. And having one relatively small thing to move instead of three heavy things (TV, CRT, TV stand) is going to make leaving this apartment that much easier.

Yes, I paid in “cash” (actually, I used the debit card). It puts me a half-month behind on my time line for getting rid of the student loan, but my savings account remains untouched and I was sure as hell not going to finance it. Another reason to go composite. I spent a little more money than I would have had I gone with an LCD monitor, but I got both the monitor and an HDTV to boot. No need to shell out more money for a nice TV since I already have one. And the sound on my “monitor” is much better than the sound I would have gotten with a standard monitor’s onboard speakers.

The TV stand is already back at the Bird’s (it was hers to begin with) and one of my co-workers has expressed interest in the TV. The monitor, now that we know it’s probably not broken after all, might go to a friend or it might end up on Craigslist itself. It was a good monitor, but I don’t need an extra hanging around. May it serve for many more years before it finally really goes to Silicon Heaven.

One Response to “Killing Fox’s TV”

  1. Dargon Says:

    First, as I suspect I am one of the members of the “Personal Geek Squad,” I would like to request that I not be compared to those worthless waste-of-money know-nothings.

    Second, despite the ages of the components, I am still betting on the video card over the motherboard. Also, I am hoping the video card rather than the mother board, as if it’s the motherboard, you’re in for a world of hurt finance wise.

Leave a Reply

