How to be awesome

To exist is to change, to change is to mature, to mature is to go on creating oneself endlessly
~Henri L. Bergson

This is at once the easiest and hardest thing you will ever do.

In order to be awesome you have to become the person you’ve always wanted to be. Shove everything else aside. Do it. Fuck what anyone else says.

Yes, it’s that easy, and yes, it’s that hard. Hell, I don’t even know where I want to go in life yet, but I’ll figure that out eventually. For now I’m working on it slowly. I know I want to be free. Debt-free, not necessarily car-free, but definitely free from the restraints of traveling 100% by car. I want to live lightly and freely. I want spare time.

So I work. I sacrifice my time, petty desires, and instant gratification so I can one day live without having to work so much. I put all that extra money that would’ve gone either unearned or just spent toward my debt. I bike around, even though I’d rather walk, because being awesome for me means using the car less and the only way to do that is to get good at biking. (Don’t get me wrong…biking is fun as hell. It’s just not as fun as walking.)

I do this now because I want to be the awesome person who isn’t tied down to a job. Who doesn’t have to worry about money. Who doesn’t fucking care if the car works or not. Who can just drop everything to go see a friend or to take someone out to dinner.

That does mean I have to give up a few things. I have to work at it. You don’t become awesome overnight. You have to find out what’s wrong with yourself and fix it.

It may mean giving up a cushy job to do what you’ve always wanted to do or taking a very scary plunge in order to do something very awesome. It may mean doing things other people think are crazy in order to do something meaningful to you.

Or it may mean taking a good hard look at yourself and acknowledging that you’ve changed. That things you liked or did before no longer apply and you’re no longer that person. Maybe it’s time for a change of wardrobe or a purging of some old possessions.

But it’s damn rewarding. I get better and better with each passing day. I don’t want to go back to the way I was before. And I look forward to the future. No high school fantasies, here. I like to think that the high school me would find the me now to be pretty damn cool.

What’s keeping you from being awesome?

2 Responses to “How to be awesome”

  1. Dargon Says:

    Fucking college debit and medical bills. While I possess many of the same views, I am sadly in a situation where I have no choice but to go a fairly traditional college/big job route. Fortunately, since I can live quite comfortably on very little, once I get that big job, the debt should be gone pretty quick and then I can save and then do quite similar to your own plan.

    It’ll be interesting.

  2. I admire people who have the resolve to do it on their own. I realize more and more every day that I am not, at least currently, one of those people.

Leave a Reply

