Easier said than goddamn done

I think that all good, right thinking people in this country are sick and tired of being told that all good, right thinking people in this country are fed up with being told that all good, right thinking people in this country are fed up with being sick and tired. I’m certainly not, and I’m sick and tired of being told that I am.
~Monty Python

I’m not fond of simple living/green living/minimalist gurus who seem unable to check their privilege at the door.

Yes, this is the way to go if one wants to wash one’s hands of the Deepwater Horizon spill. But way to alienate those of us who really don’t have any other choice than to keep on keepin’ on. Sure, I can eat local food purchased at the farmer’s market. But I’d probably starve or at least have serious issues from only eating three things. The farmer’s market in this town is not that good.

I could go car-free. I could quit my second job and sell the car. I’ve considered it. But I’m not going to do that just yet. Call me a selfish, polluting asshole, but I don’t fucking feel like going car-free just yet. Call me in five years when I’m a little more settled. And then there’s the small problem of not being physically able to bike to work and back five days a week. Also consider those who are physically unable to walk or bike that much. They’re people, too.

I could accomplish these things. I could sell the car, move to a town where I can bike to work every day and that has an awesome farmer’s market. I’ll probably do it too…one day. Right now my life resembles very much a tightrope. One wrong move and I go tumbling down. It’s not a risk, it’s a certainty. I’ll play little miss car-free/locavore/whatever when I’ve gotten my ass out of debt and I know what I want to do with my life. I have a choice. I’ve always got a choice. Right now, however, my priorities are not skewed in that direction. Too bad, so sad. I’m not going to be poo-poohed for it. I’m not an extreme person. I’m a moderate. I’ll eat moderate amounts, drive moderate amounts, and live in a moderate way. Extremism has it’s uses, but it’s not for most people.

Not all of us are into the location-independent, minimalist business model. That requires buying into gatekeepers I will not accept. Yes, there are gatekeepers everywhere, even in business models that supposedly avoid them. I see those advertisements on that blog. They’re not hiding. Even if they are ads for your own product, they’re still ads. Still a bloody eyesore. And not all of us are capable of pounding out the feel-good self-helpish style posts that bring in the monies.

So don’t come at me and say I need to give up my car, especially if you’ve never owned one before. Don’t tell me to diversify my income streams. I’ve been fucking trying. Different people have different situations. And I’m sick and fucking tired of being told I need to stop eating meat. I don’t mind vegetarians…so long as they’re not condescending pricks with an inferiority complex. So long as we all can respect each others’ situations and attempts at correcting what needs to be corrected, we will be fine. I will try to eat less meat so long as you stop trying to get me to buy your over-priced e-book.

*I’d like to point out that this is not solely directed at Everett Bogue/Far Beyond the Stars. That merely happened to be the article I was looking at when I decided I was sick of this shit.

3 Responses to “Easier said than goddamn done”

  1. maloyo Says:

    This is one of my favorite blogs, because of your unique take on things. I’ve noticed more repetitiveness/redundancy in some of the simple living/minimalism blogs, as well. Fortunately, there are a few who haven’t fallen into a rut, or in with the herd. Those are the folks I consistently read and look forward to seeing new posts from.
    maloyo

    • :D Thank you!

      And I’ve stopped reading a lot of simple living/minimalist blogs for exactly that reason…it’s all the same things written in the same way. Or interviews. If I ever do an interview on the Ouroboros, you have my full permission to verbally abuse me. I have yet to have any interest at all in any post that’s an interview.

  2. The only thing I can say: Yes.

    And to you: Thanks.

Leave a Reply

