When simple living isn’t simple

There’s never enough time to do all the nothing you want.
~Calvin and Hobbes

My friend Mike is baking his own bread. Which is awesome. One day I will bake my own bread and I will be awesome, too.

But as much as I’d like to, and as cheap as it would be, I’m going to put off the bread making for a while longer.

But why not? Making my own bread is cheap, environmentally conscious, and flat-out good.

I don’t because, quite frankly, I don’t have enough spoons. I work fifty to sixty hours a week, write for this blog, keep my apartment clean (doubly hard at the moment since my roommate’s out and thus I have to care for the ferrets), and cook most of my food. On top of that I bike one day a week to work and on Saturday mornings to complete my errands. And at some point I have to have some “me” time to recharge. And I eat a lot of bread. A fuckton of bread. I’d go through probably two or three home-made loaves of bread a week.

Baking bread isn’t hard. I’ve done it before. But I’d have to think “Do I have enough bread for tomorrow?” If not, and it’s a workday, I’d probably end up at the store. I have a hard enough time cooking and washing dishes and taking care of shit on work nights. Especially when I work a ten or twelve hour day. I run out of time. Bread making would end up being yet another item to add to my ever-growing list of Crap That Gets Done on Weekends.

At some point you have to decide if it’s worth it or not. Right now it’s not. Maybe later, when I’m working just the one job and not eating fucking toast for breakfast every morning.

It just may be that I could in fact, pull it off without undue stress. Maybe I’m just thinking it’ll be more trouble than it’s worth. But I think by now I have a pretty good idea of what I can and cannot handle. It’s important to not use the Spoon Theory to say “Oh, well, I can’t do that,” but it’s also important to realize when something just might tip you over the edge. There’s a fine line between pushing yourself just enough and pushing yourself too hard.

But for now I shall stare longingly at Mike’s bread and curse the preservative-laden, wheat-flavored, enriched crap I eat for breakfast every morning. I wish I had more jam. Or Nutella. Something to spread on toast that is not butter. Let me tell you, internets, two slices of buttered toast does not a filling breakfast make.

3 Responses to “When simple living isn’t simple”

  1. You know, you might think it takes a lot of time, but really it’s just the initial 20 min or so to prep the dough. Everything else is just letting it sit in varying degrees of warmness. In fact, about the only real inconvenience, besides washing stuff…I hate doing dishes…, is the amount of physical effort it takes to mix and knead the dough. If you’re not used to exercising your arms, you /will/ be sore after fifteen minutes of stirring and kneading.

    And really, it’s not just about making your own bread; it’s about building the habit of using a kitchen over using a grocery store. To be honest, I don’t trust the companies that make things I can afford to make decisions that are better for me than for their bottom line. Things I /would/ buy, on the other hand, tend to be prohibitively expensive, or not readily available in an area where people are still stuck with the misconception that big box means good for you.

    • I agree fully. But right now for me…well, just the other night I literally got home from work, washed dishes, went to the store, got online to update the blog…and discovered that it was prettty much bedtime. That was all I got to do. I literally sat and stared at the clock and went “but I haven’t done anything…” And then went to bed. I wanted to cry.

  2. WhiteFox Says:

    Freshly baked is how bread SHOULD be. I don’t blame ya for your desires.

Leave a Reply

