Finally, someone does something that’s actually green

Happiness often sneaks in through a door you didn’t know you left open.
~John Barrymore

It’s not often I run into a company that goes green without getting a snarky comment from me. So imagine my surprise when I discovered that eBay actually did something cool.

My first thought, of course, was “I’ve been doing that for a while now, big deal.” Then I realized that I’d only started doing it when I saw other people doing it. So in that regard, even though they’re putting out boxes with a life of only six uses, they’re at least encouraging people to think of reusing shipping containers and packages. And I’m sure more than one enterprising broke as fuck person will use them more than the recommended six times.

And as for privacy issues? I’ve been reusing packaging for years. You rip off or completely obliterate your address. Very simple. A magic marker will do just fine. And trust me, most of the people out there buying stuff on eBay are not interested in your address. If that’s a major concern, I hope you don’t put a return address on anything you ship out…someone might see it and, I don’t know, wonder if you know their great aunt Margaret.

I was especially happy to see the section where you could write notes to future users of the box. I love used stuff because I always wonder about the people who had it or used it before me. Who were they, what were they like? I’d love to get one of these in the mail after about four or five other people, it would be like a present, even if it was completely empty.

Now if only they’d do the same thing for those big brown envelopes with the bubble wrap inside. I reuse those, too, and I’d love to see more people doing that.

So in a rare fit of “Hey, this is actually really cool!” I have to give eBay a thumbs-up for this. Because it’s not just those specific boxes that’ll get reused…it’s all the envelopes and other boxes that’ll get reused because someone got one of these and extrapolated the idea to other shipping containers as well.

Leave a Reply

