How to cram environmental messages down people’s throats

All you have to do is look straight and see the road, and when you see it, don’t sit looking at it – walk.
~Ayn Rand

Turns out those stupid “Hybrid Parking Only” signs aren’t the worst thing out there.

Mind, I don’t care if I have to park at the back of the parking lot. I typically just grab the first fucking spot that’s convenient to pull into and just walk from there. I’ve parked at the back and walked into the store before people who waited for a spot up front made it up there. I also drive one of those cars that would be decimated by a Kleenex box. I like my little car, it’s cheap. And after driving an old pickup truck made from actual metal, anything on the road nowadays is a Kleenex box, anyway. They don’t make them like they used to.

However, I do have to agree that I would be pretty damn sickened if I had to deal with parking on the “Recycling Level.” Sure, it’s cute to name the levels at the Houston Museum of Natural Science’s parking garage after dinosaurs. But really, does the environmentalist movement really need this bullshit? It does no good at all and only further engenders distrust and hatred against environmentalism.

People resent this shit. Hell, I resent this shit.

And it doesn’t do a damn lick of good. All it is is just someone parading around and pretending to be green just because they put some signs up about how their little group is trying to do something about something. You really want to do some good? Donate the money you spent on that god-awful bullshit to your local animal shelter, battered women’s shelter, homeless shelter, watershed protection group, or another 501(c)3 of your choice. I recommend Mission: Wolf, personally.

That’s really all this is, bullshit. Useless, back-patting bullshit that breeds resentment. I have a hard time wondering who decided this would be a good idea and if they even remotely considered the possibility of backlash.

And as far as the stupid “green car only” parking spots? Damn I’m glad I live in Texas. Or else I’d spend a disproportionate amount of time arguing with idiots about how my Nissan Versa is just as green as someone else’s Prius. Or maybe I’d just park my bicycle there instead. Save the good spots for the handicapped and the old folks. The rest of us can walk, and that goes double for people who feel entitled enough to park in spots like that.

3 Responses to “How to cram environmental messages down people’s throats”

  1. Dargon Says:

    Dargon is going to have to be an asshole and mention that odds are pretty good that you would fair better in a crash in your plastic car (which could probably take on a few kleenex boxes) than you would in your metal truck. In short, all the damage absorbed by the car as it crumples is not absorbed by the driver. All the damage not absorbed by the truck as it acts like a god damned tank is absorbed driver. So it is crumply vehicle and in tact driver or in tact truck or crumply driver.

    Also, parking a bike in the “green vehicle only” spot is brilliant.

  2. It’s those LEED points, man. That’s one credit right there, bam. Easiest credit evar.

  3. Effectively that sign says, “Money parks here.”

Leave a Reply

