Let’s start a fucking riot

…but [the Surpreme Court] has also said, clearly, that general crime control checkpoints…are flat unconstitutional.
~This Guy

So at some point in 1773, a bunch of people got tired of taxation without representation and decided to fucking do something about it. So they protested by sneaking on board English ships and throwing a bunch of tea into Boston Harbor.

Too bad since then America has become a nation of loafers. We cry and scream and occasionally hold signs, but civil disobedience went out of style with the civil rights movement. Violent or non-violent, no one aside from Earth First! really seems to get into the old-fashioned sit-ins or willful destruction of property anymore. Instead we start Facebook groups. The guys who did the original Boston Tea Party are rolling in their graves about this new “Tea Party,” which, as far as I know, has yet to really do shit.

And thus we slowly lose our rights, one by one. We let the fucking TSA treat us like criminals because we simply wish to fly from one place to another. The fourth amendment is supposed to protect us against unreasonable search and seizure. DO YOU HAVE PROBABLE CAUSE TO SEARCH MY PERSON? No. Feck off and let me fly in peace. They even admit it themselves.

Yes, the fucking full-body scanners are unreasonable search and thus UNCONSTITUTIONAL. I don’t care whether or not they can see my ass naked. Or my naked ass. Pick one. I don’t care if they do or do not keep the images. I don’t care if they want to fucking grope I mean pat me down. Either fucking way it’s an unconstitutional revocation of my rights and dignity as a human fucking being and I will NOT tolerate it. Fuck you, TSA.

Refuse that shit, all of you. Refuse to walk through that scanner. Tell them they’ll just have to settle for groping. When they demand to know why, tell them what I just said, that the scanner and the grope are an unconstitutional revocation of your rights. Waste their time. If enough of us FUCKING REFUSE, maybe they’ll take the damn hint.

Take some fucking action. Stand up for something, instead of bending over like a fucking sheeple and taking it in the ass.

Like this poor fuck. Do I agree with pedophilia? Hell no. That’s not the fucking issue, though. The issue is that regardless of content, this guy is well within his right to write whatever the fuck he wants. You’re well within your right not to buy it. You’re well within your right to bitch about it and boycott the book and anyone who sells it. Amazon is well within their right to remove the book from their “shelves.” But we should not take away his right to free speech, just as we shouldn’t let the damn TSA breech our fourth amendment rights because we’re afraid someone might hijack the fucking plane with a pair of scissors they have wedged up their ass or something.

Civil fucking disobedience. Let’s do some. Because the day they make it unconstitutional to burn the flag is the day the flag needs to be burnt.

6 Responses to “Let’s start a fucking riot”

  1. Dargon Says:

    I could write a respectably long paper about this; oh how much you have covered. Much of this we have discussed elsewhere, but I’ll go ahead and lay it down here as well.

    With regards to civil disobedience, it seems there are more than a few down with the idea, but it really all comes down to not wanting to be the lone idiot getting arrested. The can’t arrest all of us, but they’ll damn sure arrest some of us, and if only a few of us show up, guess who’s getting hauled off. Few people are willing to take that risk, so silent compliance is what ends up on the table.

    With regards to resisting the TSA, there is a movement, “opt out day,” wherein many people traveling the busy holiday weekend are planning to opt out of the millimeter wave scanners, opt for the pat down, and request private screenings. In short, cause as much delay as possible on one of the busiest days of the year. Sure, it’ll piss people off, but perhaps it’ll get the ball rolling to get rid of this security theatre garbage.

    And on the topic of it being theatre, it is fucking theatre. The TSA has inadvertently created a target much more prime for the picking than any airborne plane. The security line probably has a few planes’ worth of people in it, and it hasn’t been even looked at. No need to smuggle shit past them, just blow a suitcase size bomb in the middle of the line. I’d be tempted to blow a paint bomb in the middle of that line just to make a point if it wouldn’t land me in fucking gitmo (not to meniton I’d likely get the shit beat out of me before the authorities could arrest me).

    Of course, you could always blow up any of the unguarded train or bus lines across the nation, or any of the jam packed, minimally secured sports stadiums or amusement parks, or one of the unguarded and packed malls on black friday. High death toll, good fear effect, easy pickings.

    Mind you, I say that not because I want levels of security there to increase, but because I’d much rather die a free man than live constantly being treated as a criminal.

    And once more, millimeter wave scanners don’t detect PETN bombs.

    As for the pedophilia book guy, in the end he’ll probably have to distribute independently. Most publishers and distributors would refuse to carry that (I would), and that is well within their rights. That being said, I must agree that he is well within his rights to write and distribute the book.

    • Soyweiser Says:

      And that is why you fail young grasshopper. You fear getting arrested. All civil disobedience gets you arrested. Or else you ain’t doing it right.

      Rule 1 (yeah, there are guidebooks) for organised civil disobedience is assume that you get arrested and take precautions.

      Civil disobedience should be about being mad as hell and not taking it anymore. Not caring about getting arrested.

    • Dargon Says:

      While I am a large fan of raising hell over this, it seems to me the primary objection the site has is the potential health risk of the radiation exposure from the scanner. That is amongst the least of my concerns with this issue. The unconstitutional violation of privacy and unreasonable search are what bothers me. The fact that it doesn’t make us any safer is what bothers me.

      And not flying, I think, will be far less effective that raising hell every time you have to go through the scanners. If everyone still flies, but everyone requests a private screening, perhaps we can overload them, cause massive delays, cause people to miss their flights, destroy the status quo. Boycotts only work if you can get enough people doing it. Causing delays takes a lot less people.

      • I got to hear the guy who started the site talking on the radio this weekend, and the health issues weren’t the only thing he addressed. Also, they’re big on the whole opt-out day and the civil disobedience, or at least seemed to be in the interview. I think they’re pushing the health issues because it’s important to not give people cancer with something you claim is safe, and because it’s likely one of the easier ways the scanners could get forced out.
        Personally, I decided I’d rather drive than fly a long time ago.

  2. Again, been rereading, but I’ve been flying a lot lately, and I feel I should add a bit here.
    I’ve come to the conclusion that the reason the TSA exists is to keep air travel a viable option in this country. See, the only way to keep all these airports open and staffed is to keep the industry profitable. The only way to keep the industry profitable is to keep flight costs reasonable compared to the amount brought in per-flight. The only way to keep flight costs reasonable is to fill planes. The only way to fill planes is for sheeple to be willing to fly. And really, sadly, the only way to keep sheeple willing to fly, what with our sensationalist terrorist government and sensationalist terrorist media, is to look like extreme measures are being taken to keep it safe for people to do so.
    It’s kinda sick, really.
    Also, interestingly, it makes jobs. A decent number of jobs. At least a dozen in small airports, many more in larger ones, and that’s basically every commercial airport in the US. I don’t know how many airports that is, but I do know that it’s enough to make it difficult to even consider cutting them all, regardless of the merit.
    I’d also like to add that 95% of the TSA employees I’ve dealt with were wonderful, courteous people. I actually like going through the security line at my local airport. It, however, just uses the normal metal detectors.
    I’ve been through the scanners when I’ve been in a hurry, and didn’t realize they used the scanners and not the regular detectors until I was up to that point in the line. I think that was only once, but it may have been twice. Generally, I get the grope. I mean, hey, free, government-trained gropings? How the hell could I pass up on that?

Leave a Reply

