Hooray mediocrity!

Too many people overvalue what they are not and undervalue what they are.
~Malcolm S. Forbes

I’m not a very extreme person. Granted, I do want to live in an RV, and that’s probably pretty extreme. But I’m not an extreme minimalist, or extreme environmentalist, or an extreme simple living…ist. I’m not even an extreme blogger.

And that’s just fine. Most people are this way.

People who do extreme things can be inspiring, awesome, and wonderful. But no one should fall into the trap of feeling like they should do more simply because they can. I can live with just one hundred possessions…period. No cheating or anything. Doesn’t mean I should. Nor should I give up things that I enjoy for the sake of the environment. Sorry, I’m not a martyr. And I won’t push others to live at extremes. I will push them to do the best they can, but I will accept their best as I should hope others accept my best.

I fully believe that if people would just do to the point of “enough,” it would change the world, no extremism necessary. No Impact Man is certainly wonderful and inspiring, but even he was unwilling to live the more extreme parts of it for more than the required amount. “Enough” is different for different people. For me, it’s “enough” to have four plates and four bowls. That may not be “enough” for someone else. It may be “enough” for someone else to get around via bicycle only. I can’t. I do, however, find that my little car is “enough.”

That’s not to say we shouldn’t challenge ourselves to do more. We should, but we should also balance that with the notion that we’re not martyrs and we shouldn’t make ourselves suffer. Life is supposed to be enjoyed, not merely tolerated.

So I will be content with my mediocrity. Others can be the extreme inspirations…I’ll live the principles as they pertain to myself and impress no one.

2 Responses to “Hooray mediocrity!”

  1. Dargon Says:

    Sounds more like moderation than mediocrity.

Leave a Reply

