Fox’s environmental philosophy

All are lunatics, but he who can analyze his delusion is called a philosopher.
~Ambrose Bierce

I figured I might as well collect all of this in one post, more or less, so people would know what I actually try to practice and believe. I know some of what I say can be read as anti-environmentalism, and to a point, that’s correct. I’ll get to that. This’ll probably be old news to those of you who have been reading a while.

1. I’m a big fan of used products. I believe the greenest product is the one that’s never made in the first place. Ergo, I believe that it’s often better to buy something used or to do without than utilize resources to make another something. This is a big part of why I’m so terribly critical of “green” products. They’re often a useless waste of perfectly good resources.

2. I try to live small. I have a small apartment, a small car, and a small number of possessions. Again, fewer resources being used. Furthermore, my insistence on living in a small apartment in town means I’m not cutting into another organism’s habitat nearly as much.

3. Global warming, whatever. I hate the global warming argument. I practice my own form of environmentalism because I feel the need to conserve resources, reduce pollution, and protect habitat. Global warming’s existence or nonexistence doesn’t matter to me. I feel the topic reeks a bit too much of religous extremism.

4. I don’t believe in the environmental apocalypse. We’re not killing the planet. Life will survive. We may not recognize it, we may not like it, but it will. I have a very firm faith in the resiliency of life. Furthermore, I’m doing the best I can, so I’m not going to stress out about it.

5. I don’t take shit too seriously. I’m not going to die if I throw something away or drive somewhere or run the AC. I have one life to live and I’m going to fucking enjoy it. I am not some environmental martyr. I try not to take anything very seriously, just as a general philosophy of life.

6. I don’t believe in the “green movement.” So you can say I’m anti-environmentalism, if by environmentalism you mean the philosophy that results in people trying to buy themselves green. Trendy environmentalism, enviroconsumerism, whatever you want to call it. Not a fan at all. Those of you who have been reading this blog awhile are very well aware of this.

7. I believe in criticizing things that are important to you. Obviously, ecological conscientiousness is important to me, thus I’m pretty damn critical about it. Most people are this way, though. But I at least try to listen when people have an opinion contrary to mine. This whole damn blog is pretty much me sounding out ideas and opinions and occasionally people tell me I’m wrong or I neglected to think of something. Over the past five years, my views on the environment have changed a lot. This blog has forced them to change even more. There’s nothing like having to explain yourself publicly on the internet to get you to reconsider a few things. I highly suggest it.

There might be a few things I’ve missed. I haven’t talked about food, for example, or my philosophy on Dealing With Other Human Beings (hello, Golden Rule). But as far as a general concept of my stance on environmentalism, I think this covers the major parts of it.

One Response to “Fox’s environmental philosophy”

  1. KiyaraSabel Says:

    I pretty much agree with everything. except with #4, it’s not the world we need to worry about killing per se, of course the life of the planet will go on without us, but we can’t go on living if we destroy our environment’s carrying capacity.

    Sure we talk about moving to space and things, but until we learn to live in a closed loop system in an environment with abundant resources, we’re never going to live in space.

Leave a Reply

