Bits and pieces

Life is a whim of several billion cells to be you for a while.
~Author Unknown

I’ve almost run out of plastic bags to use as trash can liners and for cleaning the litter boxes. It’s an odd feeling. No more big wadded up bag full of other bags (they’re not bags of holding, so I can actually get away with it). In fact, I had to quit using them to store the recycling in; I now take the recycling to work with me since my boss collects his there. If I run out, I may turn into one of those freaky bag ladies…or not. I’ll probably just not take my reusable bag to the grocery store whenever I need a new liner. Why buy plastic bags when I can get them for free?

***

Think you’re broke? You probably aren’t. I wish I could have maintained this old aunt’s mindset…I definitely whined when I was in debt. But I’ve got the same reaction as Donna when it comes to whiners with iPhones.

***

This blew my mind. The $100 a day rule? For me it’s more like the $10 a week rule. I want to buy a new bra from Victoria’s Secret and it’s been at least a month…it’s been pushed aside by more pressing financial issues like making sure I could afford Kitty-boo’s vet bills. I’m only getting one next week because the coupon someone gave me expires soon after that. And considering the state of my old bras, it’s not an impulse purchase in the least. I should get two, but I’ll get the second at a later date.

Even now I can’t afford to impulse buy something that costs $50, much less $250 or more. I’ve been wanting a $300 netbook for pretty much all of this year, and it will likely be another two months before I actually buy it. Wait three days to make a $300 purchase? I could only dream of having that much money. And I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that, in my opinion, buying something that costs $300 after only three days of thought is still an impulse buy. For every day you’d have to work to pay for it, spend two weeks thinking about it. I think that’s a better rule of thumb. You’re talking about wasting a DAY OF YOUR LIFE. For what? The latest gew-gaw?

***

I’m trying to remember to check my credit report every four months. That’s three times a year, since I can request a free credit report from each of the three companies that offer it through annualcreditreport.com once a year. So I space them out instead of checking all three at once. Of course, not having a paper calendar and being unaccustomed to having to make notes on things I may not remember, I’m trying out some things…the first is the event notification on my phone, the second is a semi-freeware program called Vueminder. can’t say much about it yet, other than that it seems to run nicely in the background without me having to stare at a calendar on my desktop (I hate seeing anything on my desktop). It’s only semi-freeware because they have a free version and a paid version.

***

Always try something new. It took me four years to realize that I do, in fact, enjoy beer. I’m just so damn picky it took me four years of occasionally trying them until I ran across one that I liked (Young’s Double Chocolate). Turns out I like stouts. Who knew? I’ve spent most of the past week specifically trying new beers. I have found that I dislike blondes and pilsners (among other things), but New Belgium’s 1554 is pretty damn tasty. So now my policy when I run across someone who says they don’t like beer is to ask “Have you tried Young’s Double Chocolate? No? You should.”

6 Responses to “Bits and pieces”

  1. Dargon Says:

    My policy is to as what they have tried. The answer is usually “American pisswater lite.” As far as I am concerned, if you have not tried a pilsner, a lager, a red, a brown ale, a wheat beer, a pale ale, a stout, and probably some other types I can’t think of at the moment, you can’t say you don’t like beer.

    That being said, even at my wealthiest that $100 per day rule seemed insane. Then again, perhaps being broke trained me out of impulse buys. Hell, I have to mull over buying a $1 candy bar.

  2. Why are you checking your report more than once a year? The advice I was given was to check only once a year. The reason for this is that the report will list how often you check, and more frequent checks can adversely affect your score.

    On the waiting to purchase, good rule to have.

    • Checking it myself is a “soft” check, which does not adversely affect the score: http://truthfullending.com/soft-vs-hard-credit-pull/

      I like to check every couple months to make sure that if there is an error in my credit report, it gets discovered and fixed relatively quickly.

      • *nods*

        I am behind in checking mine, it’s something I need to do this summer. Found an error a long while back from school loans, and I don’t know if it ever got fixed even after calling.

  3. I know some people that could really use the $100/week rule. Most of them are young, and work in the IT industry where a stupidly large pay arrives in their bank account every month. Some of these kids were born in the 90s, and have never known what it means to be really horribly short of money – so, they need (or at least, should have) rules to not continually blow their budget every few weeks.

  4. Belated thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

