The cell phone: to ditch or not to ditch?

Cell phones are the latest invention in rudeness.
~Terri Guillemets

So my prediction was wrong. Tammy Strobel of RowdyKittens is getting rid of her cell phone next.

Truthfully, I can’t fault her this one. I’ve often considered getting rid of my own. Why? Well, they tend to be expensive, annoying, and short-lived. An “old-fashioned” home phone can last a decade or more of use, compared to a cell phone’s lifespan of “about two years” (as told to me by a cell phone rep). I’ve seen cell phones that have lasted longer, I’ve seen some that haven’t. But none of them have even come close to a regular house phone. Not to mention the fact that my provider, T-Mobile, recently got bought out by AT&T…a company with a habit of sending their customers spam texts.

That being said, the reason I haven’t ditched mine is because it’s cheaper than a house phone. I pay about ten dollars a month for phone service. Skype is cheaper, but as Tammy pointed out, it does not do emergency calls. And I do like the ability to just call someone or receive a call while I’m on the go. I never know when someone’s going to be doing something and is inviting me along. If I don’t feel like talking, I don’t answer. Since I get maybe a call a week on average, you can imagine my phone pretty much gets used as a clock. :P

Another reason Tammy mentioned for getting rid of hers is pretty “meh” in my opinion. That is, text messaging, internet, Facebook…the usual smart phone garbage. You’d think it would be better to just downgrade to a stupid phone like mine, just a simple flip phone. No internet, no Facebook, no Twitter, text messaging turned off. No garbage.

And really, that’s pretty much my advice for people who are sick of the cell phone. Get a stupid phone, and if you don’t want to talk, turn it off or don’t carry it. There are simpler ways to manage one’s phone use without ditching it altogether unless you really want to.

3 Responses to “The cell phone: to ditch or not to ditch?”

  1. Dargon Says:

    The dumbphone is great for me. Again my two primary reasons for using it over a land-line is the cost and the portability. It’s cheaper than the land-line, and more often than not I use it when I am not at home. As I have said before, while I would use and enjoy a smartphone, the service it provides is not something I would place a value of more than perhaps $20 per month on, far from the three digits most similar plans run.

    Some people bitch about being tethered to their phone, but the phone is an inanimate object, I can silence or ignore it. I control my phone, it does not control me.

  2. I have a dumb phone, too. I’ve never sent a text. It’s on “silent” mode almost all the time because the ring tone is annoying. I don’t buy ring tones, either.

    • I have bought one ring tone, because it was the Galaga start theme and it’s awesome and geeky. It’ll be my ring until the phone dies. Although I miss my old phone’s ringtone…it was a cat meowing. Drove people crazy and it came with the phone.

Leave a Reply

