I’m the jackass friend

We tell lies when we are afraid… afraid of what we don’t know, afraid of what others will think, afraid of what will be found out about us. But every time we tell a lie, the thing that we fear grows stronger.
~Tad Williams

Jackass friend. That’s what I got called by a fellow “jackass friend.”

See, I can’t help sometimes but just pop out and say something when others wouldn’t. It’s difficult at times since I try to respect another’s right to live their life their own way, but sometimes I just can’t help it. For me, it’s not so much the case of “Honey, that’s not your color,” and more along the lines of “Why the hell are you buying that?” and “Don’t text while driving when I’m in the car, please, and I don’t care if you only do it at stop lights.”

I’ve found that I’m growing increasingly intolerant of some behaviors and increasingly more likely to call people out on bullshit. I’m more likely to refuse something being offered if I don’t want it, more likely to point out when the person driving is making me nervous, more likely to say something when someone’s buying something they don’t actually need, and very more likely to honk at people who are impeding the flow of traffic.

Sometimes I feel bad about it because I don’t want to be that person that nags and nags and nags. But on the other hand, I also don’t want to be the person that just goes along with things and doesn’t say anything.

And on the other other hand, I’m sick of hearing about people’s money woes when they’ve got a satellite dish and DVR or are going out to buy something they “need” when they’ve got something that will function quite well in that capacity already.

Honesty’s a good policy, but should one be honest all the time, or just occasionally? When is the line between jackass friend and mere jackass drawn?

3 Responses to “I’m the jackass friend”

  1. Dargon Says:

    I may be the exception to the rule, but I tend to be a fan of your brutal honesty. I much prefer a friend who speaks their mind than a friend who just goes with the flow. The latter is fun for doing what you want to do, but the former, those are necessary if you ever want to grow as a person. You don’t question your behaviors, views, and beliefs if everyone goes along with it, and people often shrug it off when criticisms or the like are sugar coated. Sometimes that supposedly rude kick in the ass is what a person needs to truly grow.

    • I agree. Of course, I’m kindof an asshole myself XD
      But I do think that people, including me, need to be called on their bullshit by their friends. If it’s not your friend, then who? Who else would care enough?
      But really, especially after this last December but even besides, you’re welcome to be all the jackass you want to be to me.

  2. Julie Says:

    I have occasionally gone overboard in this area and have noticed the dinner invitations tend to dry up and no one wants to meet you for a walk or coffee …and my family refers to me as a “Cassandra ”
    We all need some human company. Temper your honesty with compassion.

Leave a Reply

