It’s been a long time…

There is nothing like returning to a place that remains unchanged to find the ways in which you yourself have altered.
~Nelson Mandela

Hello internet. It’s been a long time. Over two years, in fact. My last post was in January of 2012. Here we are, August 2014.

I ran out of things to say, honestly, at least things that would just be parroting what I’d already said. Intended to write some, didn’t, got busy, forgot.

I’d been getting the writing bug again. Thought about writing on Tumblr, thought about reviving the Ouroboros, thought about starting up something new. But then someone (they know who they are) just…asked. And I know myself of projects left uncompleted that I wish the authors would come back to. “Be the change you wish to see in the world,” as that tired old quote goes.

And you know what? This feels right. Like coming home after a very long time. Everything’s a bit dusty, and things aren’t the same. But the bones are still here.

I can’t honestly say that things will go back to the way they once were. I find myself with many things to say, and some of them may not be the bread and butter of the Ouroboros. But we’ll see. It’ll be an adventure.

The last time I wrote, I was still living in a 600 sq. ft. apartment with a roommate. If I wasn’t still working two jobs, it hadn’t been that long.

I’m living alone now, in a one bedroom apartment of comparable size to the old one. Not for long though…I’ve just closed on a home (well, half a duplex) of my own, and I’m in the (very busy) process of making it ready for my habitation.  It’s a fixer-upper, naturally.  :P  Nothing like sweat equity!

I have a new car. More on that, later.

I also have a Roth IRA, which alleviates some of my fear of being old and poor.

My income has improved, but not by terribly much. Maybe a couple thousand more a year. I’ve accomplished what I have by force of frugality, not by an increase in income.

I have more shit, including some things that serve absolutely no purpose other than to collect dust and cat hair, but I still have a lot less than almost everyone I know.

So, expect some stuff coming down the pipe. Stuff about buying houses in general, buying houses while low-income in particular, why the hell I have a new car and why it’s not used, lifestyle creep, Obamacare, and god only knows what else.

2 Responses to “It’s been a long time…”

  1. I thought it was a while. Your birthday was coming up on my LJ emails (which I don’t even remember the password for- this is Myra, from Texas-now-in-Washington)

    Congrats on your property-ownership! I am still up here in Seattle! Happy winters :)

    • I’ve forgotten my own as well! I’m glad to hear from you again, it’s been so long. I hope Seattle is still treating you well! :D

Leave a Reply

