Your stuff is worthless

When you look at it that way, you can see how absurd it is that we individualize ourselves with our fences and hoarded possessions.
~Morrie Schwartz

Since my house has two bedrooms, my mother foisted on me my grandmother’s old bedroom set that she’d bought when she got married. It’s over sixty years old. It’s also (as far as I’m concerned) ugly. But it was free, and I wanted a bed for the guest bedroom.

Too bad my mother had hung on to the set like it was her own personal albatross and it has spent many years in garages and storage units. The wood has split in places, the veneer is ruined in others, and warping has rendered many of the drawers barely functional.

She told me she was tired of moving it, and when I no longer want it, that I should “sell it on Ebay.”

Except no one will buy it, because aside from being damaged, the set itself is not notable in any way and may fetch between $0-$100 a piece on Craigslist, including the bed. It’s worthless.

I’ve seen people hang on to things, giving them attention and value far beyond what anyone else would give them. They paid good money for it, once upon a time. Or it has sentimental value. Or it has some property that equates to value in their mind. But to everyone else, it’s barely worth picking up off the curb.

All the knick-knacks, souvenirs, photographs, jewelry, coveted bits of this and that. It’s all junk to someone else. Just so much useless garbage to be hauled off and rid of when you are no longer a part of this world.

Leave a Reply

