Is energy consumption decreasing?

I have witnessed the tremendous energy of the masses. On this foundation it is possible to accomplish any task whatsoever.
~Mao Zedong

My utility company sends me a community blurb sheet every month with my bill. Usually events, it inevitably also has “tips for saving energy!” This month, it had a short, bulleted list that claimed (and I’m regretting tossing the thing now, as I paraphrase) that Texans were using less energy now than we were in 1965. No citation, of course.

So I went digging through the internets. Nothing specific to Texas, but American energy consumption was down for both 2012 and 2011, although still increased from 2002. No indication of what 2013 and 2014 were like, thanks, Outdated Wikipedia Page. Somehow I think Texas wasn’t down to pre-1965 levels.

Australia, too, has experienced decreasing consumption since 2010.

Part of me thinks this is pretty cool, while the other part of me reminds all of me that worldwide consumption is still on the rise as “developing” nations get on board with the cool kids. And there’s also the ugly fact that America outsources some production to countries that don’t have the energy standards they’d be forced to contend with domestically. I doubt outsourcing is to blame for the decrease in consumption, but it is something to remind oneself. My shoes were not made in America, and the energy consumed to produce them isn’t counted as American consumption.

Here’s hoping we continue to see decreases in energy consumption, and that we export efficiency along with our culture.

Leave a Reply

