Clutter as personalization

Buy, buy, says the sign in the shop window; Why, why, says the junk in the yard.
~Paul McCartney

I’ve been following Apartment Therapy for a while now. There are some good ideas for updating old spaces and making do with small homes. It can also be incredibly frustrating…especially when their more generous ideas of “budget” (a $50 planter, really?) and mine don’t line up.

Something I have noticed on AT is the tendency for some people to equate a lack of clutter with a lack of personality. Considering even these spaces can be “junky” by my standards, these people would HATE my house.

I think it’s a reaction to their own home, though. They want to see other homes with junk because their house has junk. I’ve been told that people over time just amass junk, and there’s nothing I can do and I should just embrace it. Some people don’t understand how someone could live in a house without clutter. I don’t know how they live with it (or how I did, for that matter).

It may also be a defense mechanism. Rather than deal with the junk, they embrace it as adding personality. “Without it, my house would be sterile and lifeless.” Sure, but I don’t want to dust around a bunch of crap, I hate dusting. It’s much harder to get rid of the clutter or not buy it than it is to keep it around and keep adding to it.

Different strokes for different folks, of course, but I do wonder how many of these people would rather live without the stuff they have? Do they fantasize about their house burning down so they can start fresh? Or do they genuinely love all the bullshit they’ve got?

Leave a Reply

