The green movment bitches about its own stereotypes

But again, truth be told, if you’re looking for the guilty you need only look into a mirror.
~V, “V for Vendetta”

Of course, I’m late for the party, as usual. Since I don’t watch TV and I hate sports, I totally missed Audi’s Superbowl commercial. Personally, I thought it was amusing, even if I wanted to smack that condescending little smile off of Mr. Audi Driver’s face. And I will, later on in this post. But, of course, there are always those that throw a shitfit over the smallest thing.

“This is a promotion of a view of ‘going green’ that suggests heading toward a police state, destroying liberty, rather than any sort of vision of a more positive future.

“…this advertisement in the most prominent advertising venue of the year serves to promote a very destructive perspective on what might happen as the United States moves toward more environmentally-friendly policies and regulations.”

Well, green movement, you made your bed, and now you’re whining about having to lie in it.

If you intend on shoving something down someone else’s throat, you should fully expect this kind of reaction. It’s not like poking fun at the green movement’s hypocrisy is new or anything. Flipping out over an issue with religious fervor only ensures that people are going to A) hate your guts and B) make fun of you. Doubly true when the issue is linked with liberalism, yuppies, urban areas, the rich, and Al Gore. The global warming contingent is especially nutty.

The green movement seems to be plagued with the same incomprehension some Christians have. “Why’s everyone picking on me?” Well, because you pissed everyone off. Quit forcing other people to share your views and lifestyle, and maybe we won’t joke about Green Polices and theocracies. There are ways to push toward a more “sustainable” society that don’t involve trying to convert the unwashed masses with crappy legislation.

But let’s look at this “clean diesel” car. According to the press release, the Audi A3 TDI gets 30 city, 42 highway (manual transmission). It’s classified as ULEV II. Now, the 2010 Nissan Versa gets 28 city, 34 highway, ULEV (manual). To offer a real-life comparison, I drive the ’07 Versa, and I typically get about 25 city, 34 highway (automatic). The Toyota Yaris is 29/36 and ULEV II (manual).

Now let’s look at price. The Audi A3 TDI is just under $30k. The Versa starts at a little under $10k for the sedan and a little over $13k for the hatchback. The Yaris starts at just over $12k.

So, really, give me one good reason why I should buy an Audi at more than twice the price for the sole purpose of gaining an extra 1/6 mpg? And paying more for the fuel, to boot. I’m not convinced. (Although I’m starting to be convinced that maybe I should write a book about going green on a budget. Really.) I am, however, convinced that I should have gone with the Yaris, even though I like the look of the Versa better. And I need to learn to drive a manual.

In only slightly related news, one of the guys at Grist has a hilarious response to the hate mail he got from posting about the ad.

One Response to “The green movment bitches about its own stereotypes”

  1. The layout for https://tinyouroboros.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/green-movement-bitches/ is a bit off in K-Melon. Nevertheless I like your site. I may have to install a “normal” browser just to enjoy it. :)

Leave a comment